Getting Started on 2012

Wow. Is it really 2012? Last time I posted here it was November and it was the first week of training for the new Ironman season. Yup, now I’m into week 8.

A lot has happened since the last post. I did some training, not as much as I’d hoped to, but I’ve managed to make some of it count. Testing is showing nice gains in power numbers on the bike, and swim times are dropping. Running has been pretty stable and for now I’m fine with that.

But outside of training there’s been a lot going on as well. Three holidays, the kids’ winter break, some work craziness. After working hard to finish up a project and look for a new one, I ended up leaving the company where I’ve worked for the past 10.5 years. Last Friday I left and began about three weeks of time off before my new job starts. I hope to make the best of that across the board: family time, training time, and taking care of some projects around the house.

So far, so good for 2012. The family went skiing on New Years Day. Any year that begins with a ski day has to be good, right? Last Saturday I did my first race of the year, the Western Washington Fat Ass 25k at Tiger Mountain. It was brutally hard. My watch registered nearly 4500′ of elevation gain, but I think it measured a little high. The last three miles to the finish line descended 2200′ from the West Tiger summit all the way to the highway. My quads are still sore from that pounding. I haven’t seen the results yet, but I’m pretty sure I finished in the top ten.

There’s a lot to be excited about this year. Elsa is about to turn 4 and we’ve survived another child at age 3. Reid is a couple of months shy of 7 and is turning into such a neat kiddo. I’m looking forward to lots of adventures with both of them. For the next few weeks, we just need some more snow time. I’ll start the new job on January 30th and with it comes 6 weeks of orientation in California. The family will be missed, but I’ll use the time to train really hard as well.

May will be here in no time!

This entry was posted in Parenting, Training. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

