No Major Racing Plans?

My big event of 2011 is in the past and I’m finding myself in an unfamiliar position. I have no more major events planned for the year. No major goals to qualify for something, no big name races to travel to. This week it is especially obvious because so many friends are racing this weekend, either Ironman Coeur d’Alene or the Seattle Rock & Roll Marathon. Am I sure I didn’t sign up for CdA this year? Yes, I did actually double check that my name wasn’t listed in the bib number assignments.

Ironman Canada is off the table for 2011. It turned out the vacation time wasn’t there. That’s actually fine with me, as I’ll instead pace a friend for the last 50 miles of the Cascade Crest 100. That’s going to be a ton of fun. But there’s no pressure and that’s not the same as being signed up for something myself. I nearly reflexively signed up for the White River 50 but a scheduling conflict took that off the table.

Race Ready

Ready to race again!


Instead, I’m just going to focus on some smaller things and have fun. It’ll be something I haven’t done in a while. I recently did a bunch of work rebuilding my mountain bike and I’d like to both do some fun trail riding and also signed up for an offroad triathlon, the Xterra event on Vashon Island.

Wednesday night I finally made it out to race at the Marymoor Velodrome. Racing at high speeds in such close proximity to other riders is always a little nerve wracking and every year I have to work myself up to going for the first time. But it always feels great once I’m there, cruising around the banked turns and playing the games. By the end of the night my head was back in it and I really enjoyed it. It also helped that my patience paid off. I only really competed for three sprints, but they were high point value laps and it was enough to win the evening’s omnium and collect a few upgrade points.

But this weekend it’s going to be mostly kid time. Reid and I are going out to support friends and volunteer at Coeur d’Alene. We’ve both been looking forward to this for a while. It will be a good chance to take it easy and focus on the little things, the now, and not some long term goal. Except for that bit about signing up for next year.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

