Not Racing

There was an event last weekend that sounded really cool, an offroad duathlon. This particular race was a 5k trail run, 25k bike on a cyclocross course, then a repeat of the 5k. I was really excited about this one. I’ve never done a duathlon before, have recently bought a ‘cross bike, and since running has always been my strongest sport, why not double it up in one event? On top of that, my triathlon team was sponsoring the event, so lots of friends were down there racing or supporting. I really wanted to go play.

But I didn’t. It feels like sleep has become a banned performance enhancing substance in our house and as a result sustaining even 5hr training weeks feels hard. Racing just didn’t seem smart. And you know what I have to say about that?

Blatty.

Don’t know what that means? That’s my next post.

This entry was posted in Training. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

